Birthday BBQ party + DIY Chalkboard Sign

Believe it or not, I’ve lived in three countries and I have a birthday twin in each who is actually a friend and not just some random people. I guess a certain month is internationally popular for baby-making. And oh, all my birthday doppelgangers are very kind people 🙂 (I hope I’m not biased). For our birthday this August, Ko Iwan and I had a casual Grill n’ Chill barbecue party. A nice and simple get together with just close friends.

Me being me, I couldn’t help to make something. After playing with a design app and sent out the invitation above, an idea popped up: wouldn’t it be cool to have a chalkboard sign like the menu in a hip bar or cafe? So be it.

I don’t have a chalkboard so I made one… It’s easy 🙂

EASY CHALKBOARD SIGN DIY TUTORIAL

You’ll need:

  • Chalkboard sheet
  • Liquid chalk pen / normal chalks
  • A board
  • scissors
  • tape

I bought the chalkboard sheet online. In fact it’s a wall sticker for home decoration. The idea is really simple, you find a board you want to use, and then cut the sheet and stick it. Voila, a chalkboard is made! In my case the only thing I could find was this green plastic cupboard door with uneven surface so it wouldn’t look good if I peel the sticker and adhere completely. Instead I used tape only on the corners. An advantage is you can reuse the sheet. I made it the last step to adhere the sheet because it’s hard to draw on uneven surface.  

So after cutting the sheet to desirable size, lay it down on the ground or on the table and draw on it. I used a white liquid chalk pen, also bought online. Try searching the internet for great looking fonts (for example this one) and then draw as you desire. Don’t worry about mistakes, you can always wipe it clean with a damp cloth or tissue. Then because I wanted colours, I overlaid my fonts with coloured chalks. The colours didn’t really show though, might as well leave it white. Hmm…Maybe if I used quality branded chalks like Crayola, I’d get a better result?

That’s it. When the drawing is done, stick it to the board. On a side note, you can also use double-sided tape or a matte tape, since normal tape is reflective of light when photographed, like below.

About the party, it was awesome. We grilled the corns in the backyard. Richard handled wagyu meat. Premium cut super tender top quality meat. Deliciouso! It’s good to have a friend who knows a thing or two about cooking. Our HaagenDazs ice cream cake was also to die for. Afterwards we played CodeName game. It was fun. Good food, good company, what more can I ask for? 🙂 I’m so blessed to have these lovely people around me.

 

“I am another year older, wiser, and more grateful.”

xoxo

Leave a Reply

