Pokemon Go Adventure: Stumbled Upon A Vulpix Nest

Hi, awesome people. Ever wondered where to catch a Vulpix? If you are a Pokemaster in Jakarta and has been desperately looking for a Vulpix, I have good news. I came across a Vulpix Nest on my Pokemon Go adventure this morning. Like, seriously, I caught 5 of them in one trip. It’s strange since I live not far from the area but I have never once encountered a Vulpix before. What’s going on? I guess this verifies the rumors that you’ll find different types of Pokemon in different areas.

And just for your information, Pokemon Go is officially available in Indonesia now, along with 14 other countries as announced by Niantic:

Countries and regions include: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Taiwan, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Solomon Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, and Palau

Knowing more people could gain access to Pokemon Go makes me happy even though I have already been playing for a few weeks. I think the game is amazing, and everyone should benefit from it. Personally, I feel healthier since started playing because I move around more. I also drink more water per day, and have better appetite now since my body needs more energy to walk long distance, which is a good thing because I don’t like eating.

taman menteng vulpix

This morning I was out of the house by 6 AM. Even though I can get ready very fast because I always have my Poke-gear for grab and go, that’s still unbelievably early for me. It feels great catching the first ray of sunshine and love how the early morning sky appears so soft and gentle. The air is also refreshingly cool and crisp, such a pity it will be hot and unbearable in a few hours. Typical tropical climate.

The plan is to go to a park. It’s the best place I can think of for Pokemon hunting because a park usually has a grassy area and a watery one such as a pond, lake, or fountain. When uncertain of the types of Pokemon available, in a park you will at least catch grass and water types. Thus a higher potential to catch more species.

Upon reaching the entrance of Menteng Park (Taman Menteng), I spotted two Pokestops next to each other. That was a good start. The sun was still low. A few men in uniform were sweeping the ground. From outside, the park looked empty but as I went further there was quite a lot of people already. In addition to a number of morning joggers, there was two basketball teams, and a fitness boot-camp going on.

pokemon go, vulpix, taman menteng, jakarta, indonesia
Taman Menteng at dawn
taman menteng vulpix
Rays of sunshine through a glasshouse.

I took a deep breath, and started my version of exercising – head out, chest out, shoulder back, stomach in, and took a stride. There were no lures this early in the morning but I always got a Pokemon or two when travelling from one Pokestop to the other. That’s good enough. At first there were the usual ones: Pidgey, Rattata, Weedle. Over time the variety increased. And then a Vulpix appeared! It was the first time I saw a Vulpix – and a CP 200+ too – so I was excited. It’s so adorable I wished I could pet it. Vulpix is a fire type small fox with six tails, and can evolve to Ninetales, you guessed it, a big fox with nine tails. From my experience of Pokemon battles on Nintendo Gameboy, Ninetales is a powerful Pokemon in both attack and defense. I especially like the description on Pokedex:

At the time of its birth, Vulpix has one white tail. The tail separates into six if this Pokemon receives plenty of love from its Trainer. The six tails become magnificently curled.


Fifteen minutes after I caught the first Vulpix, a second one popped up, then the third… There’s no shortage of Vulpix here! I was so thrilled. Of course I gotta catch ’em all! In the end of the hunt (or in the end of my energy level), I caught five. I will definitely come back for more and evolve them to Ninetales.

So that’s a location of Vulpix nest – Taman Menteng, Jakarta. If you decide to hunt there, tell me how it goes! Also check out Pokemon Go Car Free Day for more inspiration.

Til next time 🙂

2 thoughts on “Pokemon Go Adventure: Stumbled Upon A Vulpix Nest

Leave a Reply

